balboa island improvement association

improving the island since 1918

about biia - visit and see what we are about and who our leaders are... see the links below...

RENTALS - Whether your renting, buying, or just staying a day or two... see the links below...

Destinations - Here are just some of the greater destinations on the island... see the links below...

Shop & Dine - Activities are in abundance here on the island. Learn more about us by selecting from the links below...


about balboa island - Activities are in abundance here on the island. Learn more about us by selecting from the links below...

Maps and travel - balboa island -whether your flying, driving, or walking, here are the maps that can get you there...

Events - balboa island - Has Several Annual Celebrations - Make sure you catch one of these...

Find out more about the BIIA or read our Bi-Monthly Newsletter to See Whats Happening... See links below...

Welcome to Balboa Island, CA

This is the Balboa Island Improvement Association's guide to Balboa Island. This guide offers listings of accommodations, activities, activities, maps, and travel information. Hopefully, this guide shall assist our visitors in enjoying the best of what Balboa Island has to offer. Stop by and stay a while, and see why many refer to this beautiful island as "The Host of the Coast".

 

The BIIA Leadership

The Balboa Island Improvement Association Leadership want to make sure it's membership stays abreast of all of the BIIA activities. Please find the minutes of our Board Meetings, and General Membership Meetings. Click the docs below to download.


Board Meeting Minutes


General Membership Meeting Minutes

Welcome to Balboa Island :

History of Balboa Island - Come see what made this historic island great.

About The balboa island improvement association

In 1918 the Balboa Island Improvement Association was started (and is still going strong). The BIIA was a strong motivating force in working with the City on bulkhead repair, ferry service, a sewer system, water, gas, electricity, paved streets and sidewalks, and street lighting.

PRESIDENT:


Jeff Herdman:

JeffH@balboa-island.org
VICE PRESIDENT:


Terry Janssen

TerryJ@balboa-island.org
SECRETARY:

Sue Silbley

SueS@balboa-island.org
TREASURER:


Joel Holmberg

JoelH@balboa-island.org
DIRECTORS:


Jack Callahan

JackC@balboa-island.org


Ryan Gunderson

RyanG@balboa-island.org


Tom Houston

TomH@balboa-island.org


Bill Longfield

BillL@balboa-island.org


Sue Olson

SueO@balboa-island.org


Scott Sibley

SueS@balboa-island.org


Kristine Taft

KristineT@balboa-island.org


Vicki Frank

VickiF@balboa-island.org


Ken Yonkers

KenY@balboa-island.org

Committee/Activity Chairs

Membership:  

Kristine Taft
(for pic see Directors Above)

KristineT@balboa-island.org
New Island Resident Greeters:  


Laura Gale

Laurag@balboa-island.org
Tree Decoration:  

Marianne McDaniel

MariannM@balboa-island.org
Tree Lighting:  

Sue Olson
(for pic see Directors Above)

SueO@balboa-island.org
Island Decorations:  

Sue Olson
(for pic see Directors Above)

SueO@balboa-island.org
Home Decoration Judging:  

Co-Chairs:
Laura Gale (for pic see above) and
Bill Longfield
(for pics, see Directors above)

Laurag@balboa-island.org
BillL@balboa-island.org
Holiday Home Tour:  


Jeff Herdman:

JeffH@balboa-island.org


Gail Vasterling

GailV@balboa-island.org
Island Parade:  


Jack Callahan

JackC@balboa-island.org
Sand/Beaches/Sidewalks:  

Tom Houston
(for pic see Directors Above)

TomH@balboa-island.org
Beautification:  

Tina Newmans
(Camera Shy)

tnewmans@balboa-island.org
Pancake Breakfasts/Barbeque:  


Dean Starr

DeanS@balboa-island.org
Bridge Information Sign:  


TBD

 
Sand Castle Contest:  


Sue & Scott Sibley

SueS@balboa-island.org
Merchant Liaison:  

Kathy Wales
(For pic See Directors Above)

KathyW@balboa-island.org
Little Island Liaison:  


Jeff Herdman:

JeffH@balboa-island.org
Doggy Walk Bags:  

Joan Torribio

JoanT@balboa-island.org
Bylaws:  

TBD

 
Nominating Committee:  


Ralph Rodheim

RalphR@balboa-island.org
 Neighborhood Watch:  

Lynn Winfield

lynnw@balboa-island.org
 Newsletter publisher/photographer:  

(For pic See Above)
Jon Remy

JonR@balboa-island.org
Annual Audit:  

Jack Hochadel

JackH@balboa-island.org
Newsletter Distribution:  


Peggy Marotta

PeggyM@balboa-island.org
Just Plein Fun:  

Debra Huse

DebraH@balboa-island.org
Art Walk:  

Mary Beth Saucerman

MaryS@balboa-island.org
Traffic & Safety:  

TBD

 
Website:  


Ryan Gunderson

RyanG@balboa-island.org
Citizens Emergency Response Team (CERT)

Debra
Deb Boelkes

DebB@balboa-island.org

 

 

Events on The Island

Balboa Island has several activities and events throughout the season and 2012 is no exception. Hotels and pubs provide music and entertainment in high season and at weekends. Visit the Event Directory. This list shows some of the events taking place this summer; more will be added as they are announced and full details will be published as soon as they become available. It is advisable to check local papers and tourist offices to ensure you don't miss any of the local events!